Mauritania flag
  • Country
  • Capital
  • Continent
  • Population
  • Area
    1,030,000 km²
  • Currency
    Ouguiya (MRU)
  • TLD

All of Mauritania uses the same time zone, namely Africa/Nouakchott. The UTC time zone offset is --, also called --. Mauritania does not observe daylight saving time.

Mauritania (Off. Islamic Republic of Mauritania) has a population of 4.4 million people with Nouakchott as the capital city. The official currency is Ouguiya (MRU). Mauritania is locaded in Western Africa, has an area of 1,030,000 km² and is bordering Algeria, Mali, Senegal and Western Sahara.

The next holiday in Mauritania is Islamic New Year on July 7, 2024

2024 Holidays in Mauritania

  • Jan 1
    New Year's Day
  • Apr 10
    End of Ramadan (Eid al-Fitr)
  • May 1
    Labour Day
  • May 25
    Africa Day
  • Jun 16
    Feast of the Sacrifice (Eid al-Adha)
  • Jul 7
    Islamic New Year
  • Sep 15
    Birthday of Muhammad (Mawlid)
  • Nov 28
    Independence Day